Nursing myself back to feeling better
Nov 4, 2009 4:05 PM
Hello everyone,

First of all I want to apologize in advance, because I'm sure what I am going to ask has been discussed a myriad of times on various forum posts. It's not that I haven't been reading through past posts, I have really :), it's just that people start talking numbers, or this and that, and I am having a difficult time time understanding just what everyone is talking about. So if some kind soul wouldn't mind taking the time to go back to basics for me, and possible briefly go over the different types of mattresses, maybe a recommendation on at least the material that might be best for me I would sincerely appreciate it!

The Scenario~

I am a Registered Nurse in a very busy Emergency Department. The hours that I work are 3:00pm to 3:30am. As you can imagine, not only do I work long shifts, but the kind of work that I do is physically and mentally demanding. By the time that I get home and get settled into bed its about 4:30am. Now due to my crazy work and schedule when I do go to sleep, I sleep like a rock with minimal tossing or turning (or so we think.... hubby works the same hours). So when I wake up after 7-8hours of sleep you would think I am completely rested right? Wrong! EVERY day I wake up I feel like a train hit me. My joints ache, I frequently have at least one limb numb and tingling, the side that I was lying on, the shoulder feels like it has been struck repeatedly with a baseball bat etc, etc... I honestly can't remember that last time I woke up feeling good, it's pretty sad actually. Because I have noticed in other posts people post their stats, I will add mine for the sake of completion ~ I am 5'6 about 175lbs and my husband is 6'1 about 210lbs.

The Mattress~