New & desperately need advice re: adding layers on top of painfully firm Beautyrest
Jul 6, 2011 5:15 PM
I'm a newbie and am desperate.  My husband and I are now on our 3rd mattress from Macy's, and we get no more preference changes. We first had Simmons Beautyrest Black, which had poor quality memory foams that provided no support whatsoever, and our backs hurt because we sank too much.  (We do NOT recommend the Beautyrest Black!). On our third, and final, selection, we went with a Simmons Beautyrest Elderberry Tight Top Firm, even though the saleswoman said we'd need a topper b/c it is so firm.  She was right.  Alone, it is like sleeping on concrete, so it ends up being like a box spring.  (It has no give even if we jump on it). 

We initially added a 1.5" geo cut "Memory Foam Bed Topper by Beautyrest" that I bought at Bed, Bath & Beyond.  It was too soft of a topper anyway, and did nothing to lessen our discomfort.

I then found this forum, and based on something I'd read here, I ordered the 1.5" Bryland Home 1.5" topper.  I have no idea what ILD it might be, as Brylane doesn't address that.  We placed it on top of the memory foam topper.  That helped a lot, but my husband and I still wake up stiff and achy.  I think we are bottoming out on the too-firm mattress below.  We are both heavy (Hubby is 235 and I am 185). 

This past weekend, I slept at my brother's house on his Denver Mattress ASPEN, which I understand to be a Talalay latex.  No pain, no sleepiness, and I could bend over in the mornings. My shoulders and hips felt cushioned as I sank in the mattress, but it felt boyant at the same time and supported my low back so that I stayed in spinal alignment.  I want to feel that way every night and every morning.  But we've spent so much money thus far that we can't simply order a new mattress.  (We'd also purchased a pricey adjustable base for almost $3000, plus the $1200 Simmons mattress and the two toppers).