Table of Contents
Do I need a new sleep system?
What to look for in a new bed
Mattress sizes
Your basic choices
How bedding companies make and market their products
How retailers sell beds
Other things to consider
Negotiating Tips
Memory foam mattresses
Latex foam mattresses
Air Mattresses
Retailer Interview #1
Retailer Interview #2
Retailer Interview #3
Maintenance
Case study
Fire Safety
Need a New Bed?
Terminology
Magniflex
Beautyrest Black
Tempur-Pedic
Green Mattresses
Sleep Problems?
Dorm Mattresses
Bed Bugs
Vera Wang
Vibrating Mattresses
***Top Mattress Companies***
Sealy
Simmons
Serta
King Mattress
Queen Mattress
Full Mattress
Twin Mattress
Crib Mattress
Latex Mattress 101
The Mattress Underground
Memory Foam Mattress 101
Polyurethane Foam in Mattresses
Black Friday Mattress Deals 2013
-Privacy Policy
-Press

Serta iComfort User Reviews

iComfort

Brand: Serta
Type: Memory Foam

Serta iComfort

Serta I Comfort

Nov 15, 2012 4:58 pm
DebKMPI


Joined: Nov 15, 2012
Points: 0
We purchased a queen Insight mattress and foundation about a year ago, we hate complaining so left it too long but in any case we are very dissatisfied with this bed.
We read reviews (do not believe the ones on the serta site, they only post good ones) we tried all brands and styles several times and this mattress felt good at the time but that all changed rapidly once we started using it.
Within a few months the mattress lost all its support, its like sleeping in quicksand with sand dunes on either side, you cant turn you cant get out and we have spent more than what the bed cost on doctors, chiropractors and physio since we got it.
Finally even we were driven to return to the store and tell them it is unusable, it has a 25 year warranty, 10 years warranty and 15 prorated so we thought it a safe investment. Only one year and its more than used up its 9 lives.
Today they came and took photos and measured the dips and hills and when they lifted the mattress off we found not only was the mattress junk but that the foundation had collapsed in a 2x4 foot section. I had never even moved the mattress off to check that, I turn the mattress around every 2 weeks but hadn't lifted it off yet.
We are seniors, we aren't heavy and we treat our bed with respect, no way this should have happened within such a short time.
I wish I had found these reviews a lot earlier, they are honest, this bed is trash, do not buy one!
We cant turn over, we cant even get out of it, when I do my knees are up on my chest and my butt feels like its on the floor. There is a huge hard high spot in the center that you cant even turn into let alone get over. I have never had so much pain in my life as since we got this bed and my husband is the same. We fight over who gets to sleep on the sofa.
The support foam underneath the memory foam must be very poor indeed to lose its resilience in such a short time
I sincerely hope they will replace this bed with something that is NOT a serta if not I will contact the BBB and file a complaint and am going to leave my review in every place that takes them so others will not go through the hell that we have.

Date Purchased: 10-20011
Price Paid: $1440
Recommend: No
Pros:
none



Serta iComfort

Renewal Refined- So far so good.

Nov 1, 2012 12:45 pm
Samantha
Location: Chicago
After doing a lot of research on memory foam mattresses we finally made the switch from a spring mattress (which had a 2 inch dip in it) to a memory foam mattress. We went with the Icomfort because we had a credit from Serta due to the problems with our old mattress and needed to stay with the brand. We choose the Renewal refined because we found it the most comfortable- soft at surface but didn't sink into it too far like the Savant. I will address the concerns we were nervous about:

1) the smell- there is an odor but it was nothing significant and it didn't bother us at all- slept the first night with no issue. I did air out the room for several hours before making the bed up.

2) the heat factor- So far I have not noticed that it sleeps hot- however it is cool outside and we keep our window open so we will have to see how it fares in the summer.

It has only been two nights but so far so good. Note that while this mattress is listed at a ridiculously high price- if you go to a "big box store" like we did you can negotiate the price down significantly. We got the price down by 40%.

Also note that the warrantee is void if you don't buy the matching boxsprings so it is worth it to get the whole set.

Date Purchased:
Price Paid: $0
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Super Comfortable
Great Warrantee
No motion transfer

Cons:
Hard to get out of bed in the morning!


Serta iComfort

Good Night Zzzzzzzz!

Oct 26, 2012 8:19 pm
SleepingGood


Joined: Oct 26, 2012
Points: 0
We purchased our iComfort Prodigy even after reading all the horrible reviews on here. The store has given us 100 days to try the bed before we are locked in and I'm happy to say that we have no intention of returning our new mattress. Our mattress came in plastic and its box from the manufacturer. That being said, there was no overwhelming stench as some have experienced. My husband and I both have allergies and neither of us was bothered by the smell. I went into this with a messed up foot and back so I was hesitant that I was even picking the right model because absolutely nothing felt good. Hubby says he's slept the best he has in the last 10 years we've been together. The first morning I woke up I had lower back pain to go along with the other hurts. The second night and on has only gotten better and better. So much difference between memory foam and innerspring. Our prodigy feels so plush; you can feel the other person in bed but no more bouncing when they turn over. I don't wake the hubby up when I come to bed later than him. This was honestly one of the best investments we could have made! And if you buy pillows too, as we did, for the totally new sleeping experience- the rep told us to sit on them when we were watching tv that evening before bed, it helps to break them in so there not so stiff when its time to turn in. Our next step is to rotate the mattress on Day 15; your torso breaks in faster than your legs. Looking forward to many more sleep filled nights!

Date Purchased: October 2012
Price Paid: $2500
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Plush & comfy, no more waking up when someone rolls over!

Cons:
None yet!


Serta iComfort

iComfort - $3300 Mistake

Oct 20, 2012 10:47 am
Jane


Joined: Oct 20, 2012
Points: 0
This bed does not deserve 1 star but there was no option for no stars. Do not buy an iComfort Bed. You WILL be sorry. After a couple of months the bed broke down and squishes down in half when you lay on it. When you turn over it's like going uphill. . Feels like sleeping on cotton balls. The store would do nothing about it. Another suggestion buy somewhere other than Macy's. Also, the bed heats up. So you go to bed comfortable and wake up sweating at 2pm. The sleeping aid companies stock must have gone up after this bed came on the market. We paid $3387.92 tax and delivery for the iComfort Easy King Plush. I'd pay that much not to have to sleep on it again which is exactly what we're doing because we're going out now to buy another bed.

Date Purchased: 10/14/2011
Price Paid: $3388
Recommend: No
Pros:
Pretty cover

Cons:
Foam breaks down and feels like you're sleeping in a hole. Have to climb up a hill to roll over.

Foam starts out cool. Heats up in the middle of the night.

Gives you got a backache, a headache and an empty wallet.


Serta iComfort

Perfect so far

Oct 14, 2012 10:11 am
Denise
Location: Corte Madera, CA
I was a bit skeptical of the icomfort bed but gien the 120 day return policy, I had nothing to lose. The bed didngive off an odor which disapeted within two days. It is cooler and more frim than our Tempurpedic.

My back pain is gone, I am sleeping better and my dog seems to sleep through the night on it as well. The free icomfort pillow was an added bonus, as I like it better than my down pillow.

Date Purchased: 10/08/2012
Price Paid: $1600
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Less expensive than Tempurpedic
Cooler than other memory foam beds
Firm
Warranty is great!

Cons:
Two days to reduce odor


Home    Buying Guide    Featured Products    Forum    Reviews    About    Contact   
Copyright ©1998-2014, Whats The Best, Inc. All rights reserved. Site by Take 42