Table of Contents
Do I need a new sleep system?
What to look for in a new bed
Mattress sizes
Your basic choices
How bedding companies make and market their products
How retailers sell beds
Other things to consider
Negotiating Tips
Memory foam mattresses
Latex foam mattresses
Air Mattresses
Retailer Interview #1
Retailer Interview #2
Retailer Interview #3
Maintenance
Case study
Fire Safety
Need a New Bed?
Terminology
Magniflex
Beautyrest Black
Tempur-Pedic
Green Mattresses
Sleep Problems?
Dorm Mattresses
Bed Bugs
Vera Wang
Vibrating Mattresses
***Top Mattress Companies***
Sealy
Simmons
Serta
King Mattress
Queen Mattress
Full Mattress
Twin Mattress
Crib Mattress
Latex Mattress 101
The Mattress Underground
Memory Foam Mattress 101
Polyurethane Foam in Mattresses
Black Friday Mattress Deals 2013
-Privacy Policy
-Press

FloBeds User Reviews

FloBeds Natural Deluxe

New FloBed

Apr 17, 2010 10:29 am
rjb772


Joined: Feb 25, 2010
Points: 67
My new FloBed just showed up! Assembly was a breeze, even easier than putting the 2 Celsion topper into the Terrycloth cover.
The new bed is a Natural Deluxe eastern king. It's currently configured XF/XF/F both sides (although Dewey picked out XF's at higher end ILD for my side and marked the shipping bags as mine). My wife helped assemble it so first we zipped everything up with the FloBed convoluted topper as the top layer, laid on it for a few minutes then unzipped and replaced the convoluted with the 2" Celsion topper. We both liked this "feel" better and decided this is the configuration we will test drive. We plan on using the convoluted topper on the twin beds (cut in half) in the spare bedroom for the grandkids use.
Sheets fit on a whole lot easier than they did on the old diveted Serta Perfect Night (~15" deep non-pillowtop) and my wife says it's lighter lifting the corners too.
My wife likes the FloBed Sheep decor on the cover and that it looks like any other bed when zipped shut.


Date Purchased: 4/16/2010
Price Paid: $2892
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Build it like you want it

Cons:
None so far


FloBeds Natural Talalay Latex Green

FloBeds makes a great mattress.

Jan 7, 2010 1:59 pm
eagle2


Joined: Aug 17, 2009
Points: 542
Yes FlowBeds makes a great mattress.

But this is not what makes FlowBeds great. In my opinion the best thing about FlowBeds is the man who owns it and runs it with his son Dewey.

David Turner has been in the mattress business for over 30 years. His approach to business is a throwback to the way small businesses use to be run. Good Customer service is not just some phraseology that he uses to sell mattresses. He really means it, and proves it by the way he treats his customers.

This latex mattress is probably no better than any other latex mattress made by the small niche companies that operate on the Internet, IF they purchasing their Talalay from Latex International, like FlowBeds does. FloBeds cover will be different, the way he packages the product and ships it to you, maybe different. But that's about all the difference there is in the actual mattress. The difference comes in in the way he backs up what he says about his product on his website.

It is truly a delight to call an 800 number and get a live person who actually owns the company. Dave will do everything he can to make sure that you are happy with your purchase. He has, from everything I have been able to learn from searching the Internet, the best combination of exchange and return policy of any of the companies. You have 90 days for unlimited exchanges, only paying shipping of the layer back to FlowBeds. And the charge is much less than some others require. if you decide that the mattress is not for you within the 90 day, you can return it for a complete refund, only paying the shipping charges to return the mattress to FloBeds.

I could go on and on about this but I think you get my meaning. I have just concluded my 90 days and there's no way that I would return the mattress for a refund. It has slept quite well for me. I exchanged 4 pieces of latex to get the proper feel that I wanted during my 90 day "Sleep Test".

I can best say it this way regarding how I feel about the mattress. "I look forward to going to bed, and I do not want to get out of bed in the morning. When I do finally get up, I feel quite good, no stiffness, no aches or pain,I just feel refreshed."

Dave charges more for his mattress than some other companies. But I felt it was worth it to have this kind of treatment and exchange plus return policy guaranteed. When you're buying something off of the Internet that is this expensive, then you want the assurance that if you don't like it you can return it and you can get your money back. Think of it as an insurance policy.

If you want to read my total experience, I have a lengthy in-depth thread in the forum. Cut and paste this link into the URL location of your browser if you want to read it. Just remember, since it is so long, if you want to read all of it, you'll have to go to the bottom of the page and click on the word "ALL" to see the whole thing.

http://www.whatsthebest-mattress.com/forum/just-bought-new-flobeds/6556-0-1.html

Please understand that this review is in no way a "put down" of other latex mattress companies and the way they conduct their business. Many people have been happy with other companies. And I accept their claims about their purchases as sincere and genuine.

Date Purchased: 9/09
Price Paid: $2647
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
I like the way that natural Talalay feels. Like most people I thought I wanted a softer surface. But I have found, to get the proper support, I need a firmer surface. But that is alright as natural Talalay tends to conform to the body somewhat as it warms up from your body heat.

I tried a piece of blended Talalay and I prefer the all natural due to its greater density.

Cons:
Nothing. I liked everything about the product and the service I received. That is why I gave it five stars.


This message was modified Aug 26, 2011 by Admin

FloBeds Natural Talalay Latex

FloBeds 100% Natural Talalay Latex Mattress

Oct 31, 2009 7:48 am
gtpatton


Joined: Oct 31, 2009
Points: 15
Sleeping for 3 weeks now on Flobeds Natural Latex Mattress, We love it! It has Perfect firmness on each side of mattress with luxurious pillowtop softness on the top surface. Very impressed, and still excited about this purchase after 3 weeks.
How and Why we chose this mattress? We wanted a mattress similar to Westin Heavenly bed that had the soft pillow-top surface, but was medium-firm underneath. Then, we started reading and reading. Natural Latex appeared to be the winner; but then there are two major choices (types) of Natural Latex [Dunlop or Talalay]. The biggest reason we went with all Natural Talalay was a video found on Flobeds website showing 5 year compression test of the two types http://www.flobeds.com/TalalayVsDunlop.htm Maybe somehow they rigged the results of their demonstration, but it sure is convincing to me. PS- they should make this video more prevalent on their website (you have to search deep for it). Our final choices came down to two other Latex mattress online stores [one is futon related]; but both sold Dunlop type of latex and going back to the video, we got cold feet toward Dunlop. Also Habitat Futon only offered one density (firmness) mattress, theirs was 26 ILD which is bordering on the "soft" side. I needed "firm" because I sleep on my back, my wife wanted "medium" because she sleeps on her side; we definitely did not want "soft" [20-24= soft; 26-30= medium, 30-34= firm; 34-38= extra firm]. We purchases 3-layer system with 2" convoluted pillow-top. Now 3 layers is absolutely not necessary for latex mattress, you can put two layers onto the ground and be perfectly happy. But we were forced into 3-layer + pillowtop thickness due to our existing wood bed frame [headboard, footer, 9" side rails]. We needed a mattress system that was 16" to 19" high in order for the bed to come out of the side rails at the correct height, come up to the level of the footer... this is something to consider that most people do not think about. So we purchased from Flobeds 5-1/2" wood foundation plus 12" mattress system (3 layers at 3" and pillowtop at 2".. I know does not add up). Personally, Habitat had 8-1/2" foundation that would had allowed us to purchase only a two layer system (save money) but you cannot buy just the foundation from them. One great thing about Flobeds system is you can "mix and match" not only both sides of the bed; but mix and match within your side of the bed too. So, because I wanted firm, for my side of the bed I purchased 3 layers; one medium, one x-firm, and one firm. Really only the top layer dictates the "feel", so I have it set up with "firm" on top layer (but under soft pillowtop layer); then medium in middle, then X-firm at bottom. I have total hedge, if I want it more firm, I can change out the top "firm" layer with the bottom "x-firm" layer; or if I want it softer I can change out top "firm" layer with middle "medium" layer. Ditto for my wife's side; she has medium on top; firm in the middle; and soft on bottom. Again the very bottom layer does not matter, and the middle layer matters very little.
How does our bed feel? When I get in at night, I love; it has very soft layer just on the surface, but it is a firm bed (my half). Best of two Worlds, a superficial top layer for comfortability (the pillowtop) with all the firmness of a firm mattress. My wife's side is just a bit softer (because she has medium firmness as her top layer vs. firm layer). I love, and feels like the Westin Heavenly that we were chasing. I cautiously say this, I suspect if the two were next to each other in side by side testing, there is big differences; but coming from an old style coiled box-spring mattress.. this system is great.
One small difference, and I emphasize "small" notation is that there is no "edge" to this bed. With traditional coil spring mattress, they build up the edge with supplemental materials so you can sit on the edge of the bed. With this latex system, when I get up in the morning and sit on the edge of the bed to put on my slippers or sweatpants, You really sink down. But this is only for 8 seconds of my life each day, I can live with this difference! I am just telling you that this is an observation, one difference. The soft edge in no way effects you when you are "laying down", it is not soft near the edge when you are laying down.... this is only when you sit on the edge. So, I'll take 8 hours a night of perfect firmness and give up 8 seconds in the morning of falling off the edge when sitting to put on my slippers.
Receiving and setting up the mattress... They really have the system down; the wood foundation came in six pieces [for Eastern King Size] all in UPS sized boxes, and 6 layers of latex [2 sides of bed x 3 layers] and the pillowtop latex are all compressed into sealed vacuum bags and into UPS sized corrugated boxes; really kind of cool how they engineered the packing efficiencies. It took two people a bit over an hour to set up... could be one person, but always helpful to have 2nd person to manipulate bulky mattress/foundation into place. 70% of this one hour time was just "unpacking" the boxes, cutting up the boxes, humping/bringing the latex foam mattress and wood foundations upstairs, removing old mattress' from bedroom. The 6 pieces of wood foundation bolted together with finger/wingnuts, very easy. Then layout the cotton bed-liner down, lay in your latex foam layers, and zip the top of the bed liner onto the bottom half. It is easy system... but you do have to do some work (versus two men delivery traditional coiled mattress from furniture store, removing old mattress). But this one hour is worth it, you will be excited to test out your new mattress, there is a reward at the end.

Date Purchased: 10/2009
Price Paid: $3700
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Soft top thin layer of softness (pillowtop) that does not affect overall firmness. Can mix and match layers to achieve perfect firmness. Very comfortable.

Cons:
There is no "edge" to the bed, when you sit on the side of the bed you drastically sink down (but only for 8 seconds in morning when you put your slippers on).


This message was modified Aug 26, 2011 by Admin

FloBeds Natural Talalay Latex

Decided to Go with the Flo

Jan 13, 2006 3:39 pm
Guest
I haunted the "What's the Best Mattress" forum for a few months before making my decision on a new bed - great research site - I finally decided to go with the Flobeds, mainly because it was easy to understand and order the kit. We wanted latex because we have allergies - had innerspring before, lots of sagging, discomfort, sneezing. Ordered from Flobeds on 12/12, rec'd email notice that order would ship in 8 days and it did, on 12/21. It arrived on 12/22. We set it up on Christmas Eve and it has been my favorite Christmas present! So comfortable...my husband's side is firm over medium, I am medium over firm, and we both have the zone on top with a convoluted (is that what it's called?) topper (Cal King). Bought the foundation and the glide legs too, the whole nine yards, all worth it, it's a good product and we are both happy with our purchase. We bought a Sterling Sleep System with latex/memory foam from Sleep Train several months earlier for $4k but returned it because we didn't feel it was worth the bucks. Must say that Sleep Train honored their guarantee without squabbling. The Flobeds system was 25% less and 100% better than the Sterling. We love it.

Date Purchased: 12/2005
Price Paid: $3000
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Easy to order
Shipped as promised
Easy to assemble
Quality materials
Soooo comfortable


Cons:
None so far!


This message was modified Aug 26, 2011 by Admin

FloBeds Natural Talalay Latex

So Far, so good

Jun 30, 2005 11:31 pm
Guest
I've slept on my new flobeds posture zone-0n-point latex mattress for one night and one nap and so far, it feels good. It came the day they predicted and was in two boxes. My daughter and her boyfriend came by and helped me assemble it. I could have done it alone but it was nice to have help, especially as my back is quite sore from sleeping on my old shot coil spring mattress.

My bed has the follow set up:
*Covered with 100% European cotton stretch knit quilted to 1 inch 100% Pure Mt. Shasta Wool. .
*2 inch Convoluted Latex topper (approx 14 ILD) provides pressure relief and comfort without diminishing support qualities of latex cores below.
*Zone-On-Point Layer of 2 inch Talalay Latex for LUMBAR SUPPORT and SHOULDER RELIEF. 19ILD at the sholder, 28 at the low back for lumbar support and 19 ILD at the hips. (Set consists of Zone-on-Point Layer for each side. May be placed at different levels to change emphasis.)
*Two Layers of Latex Core, on one side it is 32 and then 36 on the bottom, on the other side, both are 32. I am trying out the two 32s to see if it is firm enough or do I like one firm and one extra firm.

I slept well for my first night and my back did not hurt when I woke up. My shoulder was a bit sore but it has been sore every night for months so it may take time for it to learn the new bed is soft and the muscles will heal. If my shoulder continues to be at all sore, I may change out one of the firm core layers for a medium layer and see if that helps. If so, I will also change out the extra firm (36) and have both sides set up the same.

Originally, I had my eye on a brand new Sealy luxury euro/pillowtop mattress and I was soooo looking forward to the cushy feel of the top. However, after reading from many reviews and different forums that the pillowtop mattresses tend to break down, often very quickly, I decided to go with latex for a reliable bed rather than a short lived nest. I am happy with my new latex mattress and look forward to sleeping on it for a few weeks and seeing how I continue to adjust to it. However, I will admit to missing the cushy feel I had experienced when laying on the pillow tops. My latex is soft and I do sink down nicely.. but it isn't the same as a cozy nest ;-)

I did not buy the foundation they carry as I was hoping to have found a platform bed for it by the time I decided.. but I didn't. So I had to rally with some plywood cut to fit my metal bed frame which has a center support bar down the middle, running from head to toe. My old bed's box spring was a true box spring and needed to bye bye so I need to figure out what I will do, platform/foundation wise in the long run but for now, this will work.

I will check back in after I sleep on it for a few weeks but I expect I will continue to be quite happy with my new bed.

Date Purchased: 6/29/05
Price Paid: $1500
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
easy to assemble, adjustable due to selt set up with personalized latex pads, very good service, fast shipping,

Cons:
having to dispose of old mattress (local companies take it away when they deliver a new mattress)


This message was modified Aug 26, 2011 by Admin
Home    Buying Guide    Featured Products    Forum    Reviews    About    Contact   
Copyright ©1998-2014, Whats The Best, Inc. All rights reserved. Site by Take 42