Saatva User Reviews

Showing 7 to 9 of 96 reviews.

Mattress is Fine, Fire Barrier is Not

Saatva Luxury Firm

Oct 29, 2014 12:07 PM
Joined: Oct 29, 2014
Points: 1
I have been searching and searching for a mattress that I could afford that would not cause me lung irritation. I am very sensitive in general and cannot tolerate anything in my respiratory system that ought not be there. After a great deal of searching through both new and used mattresses I stumbled on what was stated to be a new but slightly imperfect Saatva set donated to a local thrift shop. I was so happy, I had found a "healthy" mattress that was within my budget. Knowing all the problems I'd had with fire barriers especially, I went to the Saatva site before purchase to check and see exactly what they used in their flame barrier. The website stated that the mattress used "thistle wood pulp and a little polyester". That's IT. Many companies will not tell you what's in their fire barrier at all, so when I see a disclosure of ingredients from a "green" company I naively trusted it. Well, once I finally got the mattress home and lugged up the stairs, I unwrapped the plastic and after a short while started to notice that it was indeed irritating my lungs after all. I was greatly dissapointed because the whole reason I bought the mattress was to avoid this kind of problem. I e-mailed Saatva to ask if maybe there was something else besides the thistle and polyester in the fire barrier, maybe silica of some kind? The reply I got stated that there "may" indeed be silica used and if I was sensitive to it I shouldn't buy the mattress. Why not disclose this on the website so people can see it before they purchase? If you're going to supposedly tell people what's in the flame barrier, why not come clean all the way and avoid this nonsense? Well, neither the thrift store nor the Saatva company would give me a refund, so now I am stuck with a mattress I cannot breath on and am out what for me is a substantial amount of my money. The mattress itself is fine, it's definitely on the firm side but I knew that when I bought it. The "off gassing" was very minimal, it smells pretty good actually. Unfortunately there is something in there that is getting into my lungs, and I must get rid of the mattress set.
Date Purchased: 10/22/14
Price Paid: $325
Recommend: No

Pros:

Seems to be a decently made mattress on the "green" side.

Cons:

I feel the info on the website misleads people trying to find out what they are buying (at least in regards to the flame barrier). I wish they did not put anything in there that can get into your lungs and cause issues.
This review was modified Oct 29, 2014 by Admin

Major Offgassing

Saatva Luxury Firm

Oct 15, 2014 8:02 PM
Alexis
Location: NYC
I purchased a Saatva Luxury Firm, based on the reviews and customer service. No issues with customer service at all - except they may be using excellence in customer management to cover up a bad mattress product.

It was imperative I find a mattress that doesn't offgas. I trusted Saatva and their wonderful CSRs. However, the mattress I ordered offgassed immediately and didn't stop. It offgassed a strong chemcially - pine like smell so strongly that it filled my entire house. The smell made me nauseous and didn't go away. After a week, I gave up and moved the mattress outside and told Saatva to pick up the stinker. Now it's a month later and the guest room where we put the mattress STILL SMELLS.

If you're looking for a mattress that doesn't stink, don't buy Saatva.

Also, the luxury firm is way soooo hard - it would be considered a "firm" mattress by any other brand. If you want a medium feel, you need to go with the soft version.
Date Purchased: 09/14
Price Paid: $0
Recommend: No

Pros:

Pretty cover

Cons:

-SMELL
-too firm
This review was modified Nov 5, 2014 by

Great Mattress

Saatva Luxury Firm

Sep 24, 2014 5:10 PM
Lili
Location: Virginia
We were little worry to order this mattress online without trying it. I called the customer service to get more information. The gentleman on the phone was very polite and helpful. He answered all of my 100 questions with patient. What I loved about this company was that he didn’t even try to push me to buy anything. He simply just answered my questions and explained the differences between the mattresses and their policies. Couple nights later , my husband started to chat with them online, same thing they were answering all the question, We didn’t know if we need the base or not and how tall the mattress should be. My husband sent them 10 different picture from our bed so they can review it. Their manager checked the pictures and emailed us with the information we needed. I purchased the mattress and 10 days later we had it. We love this mattress. It’s very comfortable. Gives great back support but it’s not too hard to sleep on. The best thing is my husband doesn’t snore as much since we got this Mattress. I highly recommend to give them a try you won’t be sorry
Date Purchased: 08/2014
Price Paid: $0
Recommend: Yes

Pros:

Excellent customer service
Excellent quality
Excellent price

Cons:

None
This review was modified Nov 5, 2014 by