Saatva User Reviews

Showing 7 to 9 of 97 reviews.

Great experience, fabulous mattress

Saatva Luxury Firm

Oct 31, 2014 8:40 AM
Joined: Oct 31, 2014
Points: 0
I saw Saatva's ad in the New York Times Magazine and, because I was in the market for a new mattress, decided to do some online research to explore what others said about the company. Found a number of very positive reviews so gave the company a call. Customer service rep was helpful. I think I called at 9 p.m. and someone was there to answer my questions. After doing some "on the street" research to see what retail stores offered, I decided to buy a Saatva king bed and foundation and frame. Had a tight timeline in which it could be delivered, and it was promised and delivered on the afternoon I requested. The bed is awesome -- and I recently purchased a second Saatva bed (queen), foundation, and frame.

A bonus to the comfort of the "luxury firm" mattress is the fact that Saatva's mattresses are eco-friendly. I shopped around for organic/eco-friendly elsewhere and was dismayed to find that most are priced at around $3000.

For the king bed, foundation and frame, I chose the "higher profile" option (18" I think), and it looks and feels fabulous. We decided not to use a head board and foot board on the bed, because we are in an apartment with limited space. I was a little worried the high profile option may be a bit too big for the room, but it's not. It looks "classy" and "contemporary." For the queen in the guest bedroom, I chose the slimmer profile option. Again, right choice. I have my office set up in the guest room, and the slimmer profile (also classy looking) doesn't overwhelm the space. My husband wanted to go with a cheap mattress from a local dealer for that room, because it's for guests and will be slept in infrequently. I opted for another Saatva because I will be working every day in that bedroom and wanted an eco-friendly mattress so I didn't breathe in the nasty chemicals that are common in cheap mattresses -- and also because we may use that bed ourselves in a vacation home and I wanted Saatva comfort for the long run.

The company delivers using a company called UX Express (I think), and they have the system down pat. They called two days before to confirm, then the day before with a 4-hour window, then the day of delivery when the truck is a few minutes away. The delivery both times was at about the half-way mark in the 4-hour window. After delivery, I received a follow-up email and/or phone call to ensure everything went well. Yes, both times.
Date Purchased:
Price Paid: $0
Recommend: Yes

Pros:

Cons:

This review was modified Oct 31, 2014 by Admin

Mattress is Fine, Fire Barrier is Not

Saatva Luxury Firm

Oct 29, 2014 12:07 PM
Joined: Oct 29, 2014
Points: 1
I have been searching and searching for a mattress that I could afford that would not cause me lung irritation. I am very sensitive in general and cannot tolerate anything in my respiratory system that ought not be there. After a great deal of searching through both new and used mattresses I stumbled on what was stated to be a new but slightly imperfect Saatva set donated to a local thrift shop. I was so happy, I had found a "healthy" mattress that was within my budget. Knowing all the problems I'd had with fire barriers especially, I went to the Saatva site before purchase to check and see exactly what they used in their flame barrier. The website stated that the mattress used "thistle wood pulp and a little polyester". That's IT. Many companies will not tell you what's in their fire barrier at all, so when I see a disclosure of ingredients from a "green" company I naively trusted it. Well, once I finally got the mattress home and lugged up the stairs, I unwrapped the plastic and after a short while started to notice that it was indeed irritating my lungs after all. I was greatly dissapointed because the whole reason I bought the mattress was to avoid this kind of problem. I e-mailed Saatva to ask if maybe there was something else besides the thistle and polyester in the fire barrier, maybe silica of some kind? The reply I got stated that there "may" indeed be silica used and if I was sensitive to it I shouldn't buy the mattress. Why not disclose this on the website so people can see it before they purchase? If you're going to supposedly tell people what's in the flame barrier, why not come clean all the way and avoid this nonsense? Well, neither the thrift store nor the Saatva company would give me a refund, so now I am stuck with a mattress I cannot breath on and am out what for me is a substantial amount of my money. The mattress itself is fine, it's definitely on the firm side but I knew that when I bought it. The "off gassing" was very minimal, it smells pretty good actually. Unfortunately there is something in there that is getting into my lungs, and I must get rid of the mattress set.
Date Purchased: 10/22/14
Price Paid: $325
Recommend: No

Pros:

Seems to be a decently made mattress on the "green" side.

Cons:

I feel the info on the website misleads people trying to find out what they are buying (at least in regards to the flame barrier). I wish they did not put anything in there that can get into your lungs and cause issues.
This review was modified Oct 29, 2014 by Admin

Major Offgassing

Saatva Luxury Firm

Oct 15, 2014 8:02 PM
Alexis
Location: NYC
I purchased a Saatva Luxury Firm, based on the reviews and customer service. No issues with customer service at all - except they may be using excellence in customer management to cover up a bad mattress product.

It was imperative I find a mattress that doesn't offgas. I trusted Saatva and their wonderful CSRs. However, the mattress I ordered offgassed immediately and didn't stop. It offgassed a strong chemcially - pine like smell so strongly that it filled my entire house. The smell made me nauseous and didn't go away. After a week, I gave up and moved the mattress outside and told Saatva to pick up the stinker. Now it's a month later and the guest room where we put the mattress STILL SMELLS.

If you're looking for a mattress that doesn't stink, don't buy Saatva.

Also, the luxury firm is way soooo hard - it would be considered a "firm" mattress by any other brand. If you want a medium feel, you need to go with the soft version.
Date Purchased: 09/14
Price Paid: $0
Recommend: No

Pros:

Pretty cover

Cons:

-SMELL
-too firm
This review was modified Nov 5, 2014 by