Table of Contents
Do I need a new sleep system?
What to look for in a new bed
Mattress sizes
Your basic choices
How bedding companies make and market their products
How retailers sell beds
Other things to consider
Negotiating Tips
Memory foam mattresses
Latex foam mattresses
Air Mattresses
Retailer Interview #1
Retailer Interview #2
Retailer Interview #3
Maintenance
Case study
Fire Safety
Need a New Bed?
Terminology
Magniflex
Beautyrest Black
Tempur-Pedic
Green Mattresses
Sleep Problems?
Dorm Mattresses
Bed Bugs
Vera Wang
Vibrating Mattresses
***Top Mattress Companies***
Sealy
Simmons
Serta
King Mattress
Queen Mattress
Full Mattress
Twin Mattress
Crib Mattress
Latex Mattress 101
The Mattress Underground
Memory Foam Mattress 101
Polyurethane Foam in Mattresses
Black Friday Mattress Deals 2013
-Privacy Policy
-Press

Memory Foam User Reviews

Serta iComfort

What the salesman won't tell you

May 29, 2013 9:36 pm
Jim
Location: McKernan
I hate this mattress. I like a firm mattress; we got the firmest one available. Felt great at the store. The salesman didn't explain anything about a "break-in" period, whereas, after a while the mattress gets softer and softer. While you sleep, the mattress will compress forming a deep trench tour body lies in. If you want to roll over, you have to wake up enough to lift yourself out of the trench &/or flop over. This trench eventually "bottoms-out" against the foundation; negating the form fitting effect. Unless you weigh 90 lbs like the model in the other brand's ads, you will experience the same thing. Additionally, if you sleep on your side, your mid-section & thighs (which are heavier than your lower legs,) will form a "v" trench in the foam. This puts negative pressure on the lateral and medial ligaments in your knees. Care has to be taken not to move in such a way as to hurt them while you sleep.If I hadn't spent so much on this, I would have replaced it by now. OBTW, the return period for the mattress was just under the length of the manufacturer recommended break-in period...Still waiting for a really great nights sleep. P/S, my back hurts worse with this than with the one it replaced.

Date Purchased: 2/2012
Price Paid: $1800
Recommend: No
Pros:
Don't have to flip it. Not as hot as I thought it would be.
If you really like a soft mattress, you'll love this

Cons:
See above review


Serta iComfort

Icomfort Insight

May 9, 2013 3:29 pm
mochrie66


Joined: May 9, 2013
Points: 0
I know Ive only had this mattress for less then a week but I'm comparing it to my beloved Queen size Tempurpedic (which took me 90 days to love). My husband and I have been wanting to upgrade to a king but the Tempurpedics are so $$$$$$. So we were thinking about just getting a cheap mattress with a 2" memory foam topper built in (these mattress sucked). When we were introduced to all the new memory foam type mattress i was shocked at how many were out there. I was scared to get the Serta Icomfort which was close in price to Tempurpedics cheap mattress. The price was the only thing that was comparable between the two. I had to agree with my husband that i felt like we would be getting much more for our money if we went with the Icomfort. We went with the 9" Insight it is a firmer mattress, which i like better. I have had 4 great nights rest in a row.

I'm keeping my fingers crossed that this mattress holds up to its firmness. So far loving this mattress.

Date Purchased: 05/13
Price Paid: $1500
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
the price, quality, surprisingly no smell




Serta iComfort

iComfort Genius very good

May 1, 2013 11:46 am
CincinnatiSleeper
Location: Cincinnati, OH
We have the iComfort Genius model. This mattress is very firm, but at the same time contours to the body, with what you could call "the marshmallow effect". After seven months of two people sleeping on it, no signs of sag. (I'm 155 lbs, my wife less.) I enjoy sleeping on it very much.

Date Purchased: 09/2012
Price Paid: $1304
Recommend: Yes


Serta iComfort

do not buy this bed

Apr 25, 2013 2:42 pm
SandyP


Joined: Apr 25, 2013
Points: 0
We purchased a new I comfort in late Sept. 2012. They were fairly new and not a whole lot of info. was available, but it had a good warranty, so we bought one. After a short period of time, the mattress began getting soft, and after a few months was sagging over an inch on my side, and an inch and a half on my husbands. We called the store, and they were very nice and said we could switch to another mattress, or retry a new Icomfort. We really liked the bed when new, and hoped we had bought one with faulty foam, so decided to give a new one a try. After a few months the exact same thing happened. I do believe that there is something inherently wrong with the foam they use. I am not sure which part failed. My husband and I are not small people, but we are not humongous. My friend also bought the bed when we purchased ours back in Sept. She is a small person, about 110 lbs. She is also noticing a softening, but hers has not begun to sag. My husband and I weigh about 200-250, and this bed did not work for us. My friend has started sleeping in a different place on her bed every night, hoping to not have the same issue we did.

Date Purchased: 9/30/2012
Price Paid: $1400
Recommend: No
Pros:
It was great for about a month. Can't say anything else positive, except the store we bought it from was really great about the initial exchange and giving us our money back.

Cons:
saggy, softened up way too much...


Serta iComfort

Bad hard

Apr 22, 2013 2:58 pm
Kristie
Location: West Virginia
I purchased the icomfort savant and have had it for 2 days so far, I have been in tears each night I feel like I am lying on bricks. In the store the bed was soft and the ones my husband and I got were hard. Furniture store said we are stuck with the over $2,000 bases and that we have to keep trying the mattresses for 30 days. I am very disappointed

Date Purchased: 04/2013
Price Paid: $0
Recommend: No
Pros:
I am able to rise and lower the bed

Cons:
Too hard. Not as it was in the store. Over priced. I don't like the firmness, I am going to have to go to the chiropractor to see what he can so for my back now that this mattress has caused my back pain


Home    Buying Guide    Featured Products    Forum    Reviews    About    Contact   
Copyright ©1998-2014, Whats The Best, Inc. All rights reserved. Site by Take 42