Table of Contents
Do I need a new sleep system?
What to look for in a new bed
Mattress sizes
Your basic choices
How bedding companies make and market their products
How retailers sell beds
Other things to consider
Negotiating Tips
Memory foam mattresses
Latex foam mattresses
Air Mattresses
Retailer Interview #1
Retailer Interview #2
Retailer Interview #3
Maintenance
Case study
Fire Safety
Need a New Bed?
Terminology
Magniflex
Beautyrest Black
Tempur-Pedic
Green Mattresses
Sleep Problems?
Dorm Mattresses
Bed Bugs
Vera Wang
Vibrating Mattresses
***Top Mattress Companies***
Sealy
Simmons
Serta
King Mattress
Queen Mattress
Full Mattress
Twin Mattress
Crib Mattress
Latex Mattress 101
The Mattress Underground
Memory Foam Mattress 101
Polyurethane Foam in Mattresses
Black Friday Mattress Deals 2013
-Privacy Policy
-Press

Memory Foam User Reviews

Serta iComfort

Icomfort Insight

May 9, 2013 3:29 pm
mochrie66


Joined: May 9, 2013
Points: 0
I know Ive only had this mattress for less then a week but I'm comparing it to my beloved Queen size Tempurpedic (which took me 90 days to love). My husband and I have been wanting to upgrade to a king but the Tempurpedics are so $$$$$$. So we were thinking about just getting a cheap mattress with a 2" memory foam topper built in (these mattress sucked). When we were introduced to all the new memory foam type mattress i was shocked at how many were out there. I was scared to get the Serta Icomfort which was close in price to Tempurpedics cheap mattress. The price was the only thing that was comparable between the two. I had to agree with my husband that i felt like we would be getting much more for our money if we went with the Icomfort. We went with the 9" Insight it is a firmer mattress, which i like better. I have had 4 great nights rest in a row.

I'm keeping my fingers crossed that this mattress holds up to its firmness. So far loving this mattress.

Date Purchased: 05/13
Price Paid: $1500
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
the price, quality, surprisingly no smell




Serta iComfort

iComfort Genius very good

May 1, 2013 11:46 am
CincinnatiSleeper
Location: Cincinnati, OH
We have the iComfort Genius model. This mattress is very firm, but at the same time contours to the body, with what you could call "the marshmallow effect". After seven months of two people sleeping on it, no signs of sag. (I'm 155 lbs, my wife less.) I enjoy sleeping on it very much.

Date Purchased: 09/2012
Price Paid: $1304
Recommend: Yes


Serta iComfort

do not buy this bed

Apr 25, 2013 2:42 pm
SandyP


Joined: Apr 25, 2013
Points: 0
We purchased a new I comfort in late Sept. 2012. They were fairly new and not a whole lot of info. was available, but it had a good warranty, so we bought one. After a short period of time, the mattress began getting soft, and after a few months was sagging over an inch on my side, and an inch and a half on my husbands. We called the store, and they were very nice and said we could switch to another mattress, or retry a new Icomfort. We really liked the bed when new, and hoped we had bought one with faulty foam, so decided to give a new one a try. After a few months the exact same thing happened. I do believe that there is something inherently wrong with the foam they use. I am not sure which part failed. My husband and I are not small people, but we are not humongous. My friend also bought the bed when we purchased ours back in Sept. She is a small person, about 110 lbs. She is also noticing a softening, but hers has not begun to sag. My husband and I weigh about 200-250, and this bed did not work for us. My friend has started sleeping in a different place on her bed every night, hoping to not have the same issue we did.

Date Purchased: 9/30/2012
Price Paid: $1400
Recommend: No
Pros:
It was great for about a month. Can't say anything else positive, except the store we bought it from was really great about the initial exchange and giving us our money back.

Cons:
saggy, softened up way too much...


Serta iComfort

Bad hard

Apr 22, 2013 2:58 pm
Kristie
Location: West Virginia
I purchased the icomfort savant and have had it for 2 days so far, I have been in tears each night I feel like I am lying on bricks. In the store the bed was soft and the ones my husband and I got were hard. Furniture store said we are stuck with the over $2,000 bases and that we have to keep trying the mattresses for 30 days. I am very disappointed

Date Purchased: 04/2013
Price Paid: $0
Recommend: No
Pros:
I am able to rise and lower the bed

Cons:
Too hard. Not as it was in the store. Over priced. I don't like the firmness, I am going to have to go to the chiropractor to see what he can so for my back now that this mattress has caused my back pain


Serta iComfort

Good Mattress

Apr 17, 2013 3:34 pm
Shobe


Joined: Apr 17, 2013
Points: 0
It is interesting the huge variety of reviews on this bed. There are 27 five stars, 7 four stars, 4 three stars, 10 two stars and 24 one star reviews, so they are all over the place, but they are all for different mattresses. It is hard to determine which review to look at unless you are comparing bed to bed. We bought the Twin XL Renewal Refined Mattresses on an adjustable base.

What we have not noticed is the memory foam not working. We both toss and turn a lot, so we do not leave any impressions in the bed and the foam does turn back to its original shape.

We both like a softer mattress, but not too soft. This is rated as a 7 out of 10 at us-mattress.com and at a 50 level (meaning plush) at other sites. It sleeps very nice.

The bed does come with a 120 day trial period. I think it takes time to get used to any new bed. We got used to ours within a few days. It is better than the Tempurpedic because that mattress was too hard and we felt each other's movements, even with the advertisment that showed a kid jumping up and down on a bed with a glass of red wine that did not move or spill.

Overall, for the price we got, we would recommend this bed.

Date Purchased: 4/12/13
Price Paid: $2400
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
The Good: 1) Comfortable, 2) Pain Relief: Takes away my hip and neck aches (I have protruding discs in my neck) and takes away my wife's shoulder pain. 3) We cannot sleep in the same bed as we are both light sleepers, so buying two seperate mattresses on two different platforms helps tremendously. 4) The adjustable base is great. You can go into the feeling of "zero gravity" There are four memory buttons, plus you can push a button for "flat" which means you have five positions on each bed. There are four different massage modes, but the massage feature is just like putting a quarter in a bed at a cheap hotel. Some people might like the feeling, but I could do without it. 5) We bought the floor model for $2000 plus tax and that beat out even Overstock.com's adjustable beds at around $2400 with questionable 8 inch memory foam mattresses, so it was a great price. This just goes to show how much mark up there are on these beds. 6) Because we bought the floor model, I knew what the size would be and I knew exactly what the firmness or softness would be.



Cons:
The Bad: 1) We had a tempurpedic California King and it slept hot. With the new cool gel, the bed still sleeps hot. They are falsely advertising about how this new gel foam sleeps 20 times cooler than the old memory foam. However, it is not that much of a complaint, as all you do is adjust the blanket to a smaller blanket or just sleep with a sheet on and eventually you find the right temperature. 2) The beds are not cut to size. Our normal twin is 38" wide and 72" long. The twin xl's are just 36" wide (2 inches less than a normal twin) and just 76" long, just 4" more than a normal twin. It is supposed to be 80" long and 38" wide. However, that being said, I am five foot ten and when my head is on the top of the bed and I am stretched out straight, my toes do just meet the end of the bed. For anyone taller than five foot ten, if they cut the bed this short, it might not work out for them. So there is irregularity not only in firmness, but in the size of the bed, too.



Home    Buying Guide    Featured Products    Forum    Reviews    About    Contact   
Copyright ©1998-2014, Whats The Best, Inc. All rights reserved. Site by Take 42