lower back pain from flobed
Sep 8, 2009 9:48 AM
I've had my flobed for 31/2 years now. I absolutely loved it when I first bought it but over the years the "elasticity" has weakened and I now find I have severe lower back pain. Is this common for the latex to loose it's elasticity so quickly? I was under the impression I would have this bed for 20 years when I bought it. When I lay in the center of the bed (where neither my husband nor I sleep) it feels great on my lower back and there is still plenty of firmness to support my lower back. I tried to contact flobeds directly but their store isn't open yet. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Re: lower back pain from flobed
Reply #2 Sep 8, 2009 11:12 AM
Thanks so much for the information. I just checked my receipt and it doesn't mention Dunlop it says "Talalay Latex". I bought a 14 slat queen bed frame with center support when I bought the flobed so I think the foundation is adequate but I'm no expert. On my side of bed I have the "flobed air mattress" with a layer of firm latex. I only weigh 120 lbs so I'm surprised the latex hasn't held up better. My husbands side is 2 layers of medium latex (because he likes it softer) and his side is completely shot. No support at all left but he weighs about 170lbs. I originally had the medium firmness (that's what website recommended) but decided I liked it firmer and he likes it softer so we switched after a few days. I was reading the flobed warranty and you must have a 1" dip for it to kick in. I think a 1" dip is almost impossible because the latex does rise back up a bit once you get off of the bed (not completely level, only about a 1/2" dip) but the elasticity (firmness) is gone. I'm just extremely disappointed because I spent months researching beds before I bought one. I think if you're going to spend $2,000 on a bed it should last longer than a couple of years.
Reply #3 Sep 8, 2009 12:39 PM