flobeds motion transfer problem, proposed mattress operation
Oct 15, 2010 11:11 AM
Hi - newbie here whose been following these boards for a few months during a painful mattress hunting saga. I'm writing with a question about flobeds. We purchased one (4 layer, blended talalay) and are having ridiculous motion transfer issues. I can literally feel my partner sniff. We started out with M/F/XF on both sides as per Dewey's recommendation. but it was way too soft (or too something, very uncomfortable). So we flipped it around to XF/F/M (that is, M on the bottom) while we wait for Superfirms to swap out the mediums.

Dewey says he thinks swapping the M for a SF on the bottom will take care of the motion transfer issues, but I'm not yet convinced and am looking for radical solutions. Since memory foam seems to do especially well at soaking up motion (in our limited - painful - experience with a tempur-pedic deluxe), I was thinking of 1) getting flobeds to split the convoluted topper, and 2) taking a  2 inch thick piece of 5lb memory foam and sticking it in the *seam* between the two split sides inside the mattress. In other words, running a 11.25wide X 80 long x 2 inch piece of memory foam down the middle.

Has anyone done anything like this? Do you think it would help, or is latex already good at reducing motion transfer and I'm looking in the wrong place for a problem fix? Is this nuts?

Thoughts much appreciated. Thanks for all the interesting posts!

Re: flobeds motion transfer problem, proposed mattress operation
Reply #1 Oct 15, 2010 12:11 PM
What is the mattress on?
Reply #2 Oct 15, 2010 12:37 PM
I see what you are trying to do.  It might help, but with some risks.  Once you cut the convoluted topper, I assume you will not be able to return this.  So, think about that.  It might help by just putting the foam between the 3 layers below, without cutting the convoluted piece?