For the experts in opening up your mattress - question
Jul 7, 2008 9:28 PM
I read the posts on cutting your mattress open to see what the foam layers look like, replacing them, etc. One question: how do you close the mattress back up once you replace the foam layers?

Related question: I see people advising one to purchase a firm mattress with minimal foam layers and adding your own foam topper - this sounds dumb, but how do you "enclose" that topper so that it doesn't slide around on top of your mattress?

Thanks
Re: For the experts in opening up your mattress - question
Reply #1 Jul 7, 2008 11:39 PM
Regarding topper movement, I'm no expert Jeff; I've learned what I know from these folks.

When I bought a1" latex topper, I simply placed it on top of my HR foam topper (bought at a fabric/foam outlet) which added a combined height of about 31/2 inches to my mattress. I purchased a "deep pocket" mattress pad to put over it all and the mattress hasn't moved an inch in 4 months with both me and my husband sleeping on it. Make sure your mattress pad will fit the depth of the bed plus the topper adequately. I found a great quality pad at Costco for a very reasonable price. Hope that helps.

Sabra

Reply #2 Jul 9, 2008 10:41 PM
Sabra wrote:
Regarding topper movement, I'm no expert Jeff; I've learned what I know from these folks.

When I bought a1" latex topper, I simply placed it on top of my HR foam topper (bought at a fabric/foam outlet) which added a combined height of about 31/2 inches to my mattress. I purchased a "deep pocket" mattress pad to put over it all and the mattress hasn't moved an inch in 4 months with both me and my husband sleeping on it. Make sure your mattress pad will fit the depth of the bed plus the topper adequately. I found a great quality pad at Costco for a very reasonable price. Hope that helps.

Sabra