The Answer
Mar 21, 2008 9:43 PM
Hi everybody,

It's funny how the more things change the more they stay the same.  In the end, I found the perfect bed for myself.

Surprise surprise, though:  It's the same combination I've been using for the past four years.   And I know Sleep Number beds have gotte alot of very negative press here, but at this point I honestly can't say anything bad about it.

I bought the Select Comfort 5000 with the built in topper in May '04.  My main problems were that I couldn't get comfortable because we were having terrible problems with the electric in our area, and we had brownouts and blackouts on a regular basis.  So the pump burned out several times (despite the surge protectors) and the bed felt like the pump wasn't inflating it properly.  Then Keyspan fixed the problem by getting rid of the parrots that were nesting all over the electrical transformers.   The birds were causing a problem.  And when your electric is constantly going and you have a bed that relies on the electric working...well, you get the idea.

I still sleep on the Sleep Number bed.  However, because I have very severe scoliosis and a very prominent rib hump, I put three toppers on top of the mattress.  I'm using a MF topper on the bottom layer, a natural Latex topper on top of that with a cotton cover for the middle layer, and the top layer is still the same 5 zoned topper I've been using for two years.  I go to sleep very quickly and stay asleep for 7 hours and honestly I do not wake up with pain.   And if I do wake up, I have no trouble falling back asleep either.