First bed build, looking to use high density foams, no memory, latex etc.
Oct 19, 2016 5:27 AM
Hello, I am a newbie to bed building. I have used hd-hq foam in couch cushions for a long time and am pleased with the material. I like the idea of just using 6" hd36-hq so I can flip it etc, but know that will be a bit firm as I side sleep a lot, so am considering a couple inches of hd23-hq. I am 200 lbs. What do you think of this, will it be firm enough to sit up in bed to read, and soft enough to sleep on? I sleep on my couch all the time, the hd36 would make my arm go to sleep but after 6 years I think it's softened up a bit and now doesn't do that. Of course I don't want to wait that long on my bed. It's a full size slat platform frame. Should I go thicker for my weight and for firm support sitting up with the hd36?
Re: First bed build, looking to use high density foams, no memory, latex etc.
Reply #3 Nov 28, 2016 1:42 PM
Mostly it's just that I'm familiar with pu foam, and don't have an interest in memory foam; latex, I don't know much about though. In regards to the super soft foam I am considering albanyfoam has a <br>&quot;4.0 Density – 25 lb. Compression<br>Medium-Soft<br>The new standard in high end polyurethane<br>cushioning. Super heavy weight, incredible luxurious<br>feel. The closest you can get to the feel of Latex in a<br>polyurethane foam.&quot;<br>I would appreciate any information. I do want to be able to flip the mattress. Thanks,
This message was modified Nov 28, 2016 by Alpharalpha
Reply #4 Dec 14, 2016 5:49 PM
If I was going to use latex as a comfort top layer what kind of latex and ild would you suggest? Dunlop, natural, blended, sythetic talalay?
Reply #5 Dec 16, 2016 3:09 PM