Questions about my new Ikea latex mattress!
Mar 5, 2008 5:35 AM
I just bought the SULTAN EGERSUND that was on sale at Ikea!

http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/70100746

What do you think of it?

I'm not a chiropractor but I was wondering if it would be ok to stack two of them on top of each other so it'd be 8'' instead of 4''. Also, would it be alright to put the mattress on the floor or do I need to buy a base and slats? I'm a student with a limited budget.

Thanks!
This message was modified Mar 5, 2008 by emale
Re: Questions about my new Ikea latex mattress!
Reply #1 Mar 5, 2008 5:47 AM
Try the 4" first. It may just need a topper if it feels too thin. IKEA sells those too. In fact their mattress systems are designed to be used with a topper.

The slat system IKEA sells for their latex mattresses is pretty reasonable. I'm not big on placing mattresses on the floor. 1st they stay cleaner raised off the floor. 2nd, if you live in a humid or damp climate latex should have air circulating around it--which it will on the slats, but not on the floor.

Reply #2 Mar 5, 2008 11:48 AM
emale wrote:
I'm a student with a limited budget.

If needed, polyurethane will be a suitable and less expensive support layer.

Consider a solid platform bedbase, and a conforming memory foam contour pillow.

Reply #3 Mar 5, 2008 2:14 PM
Thank you for your comments! I had been sleeping on a mattress on the floor for a while so that's why I was considering to forego the base parts. However, since you recommended the slats, I will wait for it to go on sale.