Hot Flashes and New Mattress Search
May 27, 2011 9:49 AM
Been following the forum for some time as we have a decade old king 'S' brand that's ready for retirement.

The problem we face is the wife is on a cancer med for the next 3 years or so that give her hot flashes during the night, where she alternates between hot sweats and cold chills, which

interrupt her sleep, and usually mine too.  It's getting a little worse and this warm summer isn't looking too promising with I'm looking for any suggestions as to what route we could take to

make her sleep more comfortable as far as type of mattress, as well as topper or pad? So far, it seems memory foam is off the table because of the heat it retains.  We're in the metro DC

area.

Thanks a lot in advance.

Re: Hot Flashes and New Mattress Search
Reply #1 May 27, 2011 4:02 PM
"The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who look on and do nothing." ..... Albert Einstein
Tim.... I'm no expert on the subject but can throw on my own 2 cents. My wife is at that point in life where the 'hot flashes' take over from time to time. We are a month removed from getting a new talalay latex bed after ditching the old Posturepedic. I asked her if she's noticed any change in the cold/hot flashes. Her reply was no change but she's sleeping a whole lot better due to the comfort level. As for me, I sleep better because I don't feel her getting up in the middle of the nigh any longer. So, it sounds like the latex is temperature-neutral.

Good luck to you guys

Reply #2 May 27, 2011 6:04 PM
First, I'm sorry to hear your wife has to go through the battle with cancer. I wish you both well.

I can add my husband experience on latex. He tends to sleep hot if a bed it a little too soft. I know his side is dunlop and firm, and he is sweating in it. I've read dunlop retains heat much more than talalay latex. 

SleepEZ and Flobeds have great return policy's if you decide to give latex a try.